Not resolved
4 comments

The following is the Kafkaesque conversation I had with amazon on line after I ordered two gift certificates which were not delivered. I did not realise that I had ordered print outs and they were never sent. When I didn find out - I was not able to change them so that they could be mailed. After half an hour - it was established that Amazon had no facility in their ordering programme ot change the original order. My Godson's birthday had been missed and well - it's more than inadequate in my view. Here's the on-line chat:

You are now connected to Shiyam from Amazon.co.uk

Me:I placed two gift certificate orders for my Godson and his brother. I have only just found out you did not deliver them in gift certificate form by post. Now the system is not allowing me to change them from print outs to posting them. I am extremely fed up with this very poor programme you have and will never order amazon gift certificates again. You have ruined the birthdays of these two people.

Shiyam:Thank you for contacting Amazon.co.uk. My name is Shiyam. May I have your name please?

Me:Tina Jenkins.

I think you should give me some kind of compensation for missing their birthdays - at no time did you contact me to say they hadn't been posted.

Shiyam: Hi, Tina.

I am sorry about the confusion. I have checked and see that the gift certificates you have ordered are not postal gift certificates and they are print at home gift certificates.

Me:I don't know how that happened. If it was a mistake on my part - I was not given clear options.

Shiyam:This is the reason why you were asked to print it in your home. Whenever you place an order for Print at home gift certificate you need to print it at your home and need to send it to the person you prefer.

Me:I have no printing facility and now I am not being able to change that option.

Shiyam:If you prefer I will cancel the gift certificate for you and issue you full refund for the gift certificate order.

Could you please also confirm the order number, please?

Me:Yes please.204-4508078-8256362 What about compensation for missing these boys birthdays. It's clear that you have no facility to change the order that is clear and workable. And they went without on their birthday.

Shiyam:Could you please also confirm the order number, please?

Sorry.

Me:I just did

Shiyam:Shall I issue full refund for your order?

Me:yes - and compensation???

Shiyam:I am sorry I can't issue any compensation in this case.

I can clearly confirm that the order was placed directly by you for a print at home gift certificate.

Me:well then i need to speak to someone above you - clesrly this system isn't working either or you would recommend changing the option.

Shiyam:I’ve requested a refund of 50.00 GBP to your payment card which should be processed within 2 to 3 business days. Please note, this does not include your bank’s processing time. You’ll see this amount credited on your next statement.]

Me:I needto speak to someone beyond your level of decision making - shall id o it on line or call

Shiyam:Yes. Please wait while I transfer you to my supervisor.

A Customer Service Associate will be with you in a moment.

You are now connected to Karthik from Amazon.co.uk

Karthik:Hello, My name is Karthik. I work for customer escalation.

How are you today?

Me:I don't know if you can read the above but amwanting some kind of compensation for missing out on my Godson's birthday - at no time did amazon contact me re. he gift certificateds not being sent and i went through all the system of creating a delivery asddress etc. your programme sucks in my view.

Karthik:I am really sorry you are not happy with our system.

I have checked and see that print at home gift certificate was placed from your account.

I can confirm that whenever you place an order for print at home gift certificate you need to print it at your home and you need to send it to the person you prefer.

Me:I've been through this already - whatever happened - that is not an option I would EVER have chosen - I have no printing facility - and now I am paying the price - and even today when I was trying to change the order - it didn't allow it - i tried many times. Accept responsiblity - and give me some compensation.

Karthik:I can understand that this was not clear when you placed your order. I can confirm that we have not received any such complaints from our customers regarding this issue. However I will also forward your complaint to the appropriate department and make sure that this doesn't happen again in future.

Once an order is placed for print at home gift certificate it can't be changed to any other form of gift certificate.

I am sorry we are unable to issue any form of compensation in relation to this matter.

Me:Karthik - fronm whereever you are speaking - this is not good enough - therw as no back up and your programme is so inadequate that even today I couldn't swop over - do you want me never to use Amazon again? And also let people know how rigid and uncompromising your company is? Talkabout escalation. This is escalation. And if YOU cant offer me compensation - then I will need to speak to YOUR superior

To me the issue is simple - if yo uhad a good system it would have easily allowed me to swop over todAY AND YOU HAVEN'T EVEN ADDRESSED THAT ADEQUATELY. WHAT IS YOUR ANSWER TO THAT?

Karthik:I can see that we have already issued refund for your order cost in the amount of 50.00 GBP and it should be processed to your payment within the next 2 - 3 business days.

You can find all the information about the different types of gift certificates clearly in our help page. For you reference please check the following link:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/help/custome...(See full link)

Me:Look at my message above. THIS IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH - SEE ABOVE - PLEASE ADDRESS THE ISSUE REGARDING SWOPPING OVER - IT WAS NOT POSSIBLE THIS MORNING - WHAT IS YOUR ANSWER TO THAT?????

Karthik:I hope all the details about the different types of gift certificates are clearly listed.

Me:i'M NOT TALKING ABOUT WHAT IS AVAILABLE i@M TALKINGA BOUT SWOPPING OVER FROM PRINTING IT OUT TO SENDING IT BY MAIL - THAT SIMPLE INSTRUCTION WAS NOT POSSIBLE IN THE OPTIONS OFFERED - YOU ARE NOT ADDRESSING THIS.

i NEED TO SPEAK TO YOUR SUPERIOR IF YOU ARE NOT ABLE TO ADDRESS THIS.

HELLO - ARE YOU THERE?

Karthik:Yes. We are connected.

I can confirm that you have ordered a print at home gift certificate and our system doesn't have an option to change customers orders.

As you have ordered a print at home gift certificate it is not possible to change the gift certificate once it is ordered, this is why you have not been given an option to change it after you have placed the order.

Me:tHAT IS WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT - THAT HIS WHOLLY INADEQUATE AND THAT IS WHAT i SHALL BE PUBLICISING ON THE INTERNET WHEN I COMPLAIN ABOUT YOU - AND ALSO YOUR LACK OF DIRECT RESPONSE TO MY COMPLAINT.

NOW WE HAVE ESTABLISHED WHAT IS AMAZON'S INADEQUATE ORDERING PROCESS - I WOULD LIK TO SPEAK TO SOMEONE ELSE ABOUT IT WHO CAN GREEN LIGHT SOME KID OF COMPENSATION OVER AND ABOVE THE REFUND.

Karthik:I am sorry you are not happy with this. Currently it is not possible for me to transfer you to my supervisor via chat, However I can ask my supervisor to send you an email regarding this if you prefer.

Me:NO OBVIOUSLY I DON'T PREFER - IF YOU HAVE NO SYSTEM TO DEAL WITH COMPLAINTS FULLY - THEN THIS IS ALSO AN INADEUACY - WHY CAN'T I SPEAK TO ANYONE NOW?

Karthik:In this case, I can arrange a call back with my supervisor within 2 hours as no supervisor is available in chat.

Me:OK - MY NUMBER IS 07590696584

Karthik:Thanks.

You can expect a call within the next 2 hours.

I am sorry I was not able to help you with your query.

Is there anything else that I can do for you today?

Me:YES CHANGE YOUR ENTIRE ORDERING PROGRAMME -= I WIL LNEVER BE USING AMAZON AGAIN.

Karthik:One of our aims is to provide a convenient and efficient service and I realise that we have not met that standard in this case. Please accept our apologies.

Me:NOT GOOD ENOUGH

Product or Service Mentioned: Amazon Gift Card.

Monetary Loss: $80.

Do You Have Something To Say ?
Write a review

Comments

Terms of Service
Post Comment
Cancel
Anonymous
#701671

Sessa, your not a someone who should be calling out another, as after reading a couple of your postings your a real loose cannon. Someone who comes to the site repeatedly yet has nothing constructive to offer.

If your a representation of what a customer gets when they contact Amazon.com site small wonder of all the complaints. Pathetic.

sessa
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States #662817
Holy ***. You are a rude, arrogant, jacka$$.

Not Amazon's fault that YOU made a mistake! Unbelievable.

Also, please explain to us what "swopping" means. :roll :roll
Anonymous
#662605

okay so let me get this straight.. you messed up your unassisted internet order by not reading the product you were buying.

you get a refund, which is fair, then you want "compensation" for YOUR confusion?? yalk about a sense of entitlement. if this birthday was so *** important, you would think you might send more time when you made your purchase to ensure it was right.

you think you are hurting Amazon by not shoppoing there anymore but you are actually doing them a favor. maybe one day you will own a business and see how hard it is to provide good customer service.

Anonymous
#662598

It's not Amazon's fault that you're an ***. They shouldn't have to compensate you because you didn't take the time to read through all the options and you picked the wrong one. If you chose 'print at home' wtf did you think that meant!?

You May Also Like